As USA OSHA Hazard Communication Standard 2012 (HCS 2012) and the US Department of Transportation (DOT) are two completely different sets of regulations, a straightforward conversion/reference for equivalences between GHS hazard classification and DOT hazard classification does not exist. Products that are corrosive or flammable are the most common transport hazards, yet the hazards depend on the characteristics of the specific product. For example, while some products may be environmentally hazardous for transport, the GHS hazard classification would not apply, as environmental building blocks are not applied under HCS 2012.

DOT Hazard Classifications:
Hazard Class 1: Explosives
Hazard Class 2: Gases
Hazard Class 3: Flammable Liquids
Hazard Class 4: Flammable Solids
Hazard Class 5: Oxidizing Substances and Organic Peroxide
Hazard Class 6: Poisonous/Toxic and Infectious Substance
Hazard Class 7: Radioactive Material
Hazard Class 8 : Corrosive Material
Hazard Class 9: Miscellaneous Hazardous Material

GHS Hazard Classifications:
Health Hazards
Physical Hazards
Environmental Hazards

Manufacturers and distributors, do you require assistance in determining the DOT category for your company’s products, or need help with TDG, IATA, IMDG, ADR, ADN, and RID regulations? Contact SDSpro Regulatory Services today at or (888) 673-7776. Is this you? We can help.

Share This